MIT Team B wins MU inter collegiate football tournament2 min read

February 8, 2012 2 min read


MIT Team B wins MU inter collegiate football tournament2 min read

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Manipal: Seventeen institutions of Manipal University (MU) participated in the annual Intercollegiate Football Tournament, held at Endpoint football ground from the February 2 to 6, which was won by Manipal Institute of Technology’s (MIT) B Team.

In the semi finals, MIT Team B drew with Melaka Manipal Medical College (MMMC) with a score of 1-1 and advanced into the finals by winning a penalty shoot-out. In the second semi-final, MIT Team A defeated Kasturba Medical College (KMC) by a score of 1-0.

In the finals, Team B emerged as winners of the tournament beating Team A by one goal. Saurabh Bisht, a fourth year student, who scored the winning goal said, “It makes me feel remarkable to score a goal in today’s match, which made a huge difference. It is hard for me to take out time to play the sport, after being a part of a dance group. However, whenever I play, I believe in giving my hundred percent and today I did exactly the same.”

Keshav, a third year student and the captain of Team B said, “It makes me proud to see my team play wholeheartedly today. The feeling altogether is brilliant. We had been practicing for almost a month now and ironically it was Team A who always use to win during the practice sessions. However, in the end we all are winners.”

Dr. Kemparaj H.B., Head of the Physical Education Department, MU, said, “Since I have joined MU, there have been drastic changes in the sports scenario. Earlier when there were only three institutes, students used to voluntarily ask us to organise sports events, but today it is sad to see so few participants even when we have 20 institutes and two grounds. However considering the last three years, students have become more disciplined and now have better coordination with their teams.”

The tournament was organised by the Welcomgroup Graduate School of Hotel Administration (WGSHA). The event concluded with a prize distribution ceremony. A. Gopi Mohan Nair, General Manager, Fortune Inn Valley View Hotel; Parvadhavardhini Gopalakrishnan, Principal, WGSHA and Kulmohan Singh, Vice Principal, WGSHA were present at the occasion.

Sub-edited by: Vrinda Manocha