Team Manipal Racing set to compete in Wisconsin2 min read

May 1, 2012 2 min read

Team Manipal Racing set to compete in Wisconsin2 min read

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Manipal: Team Manipal Racing (TMR), the official off-road racing team of Manipal University (MU), launched their latest race car, the TMR V3, on April 30. The ‘All- Terrain Vehicle’ (ATV) was unveiled at a press conference in front of the Health Sciences Library at the Manipal edu building at 3:30 pm.

With this, TMR is set to participate in the Burlington, Wisconsin off-road competition, organized by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), USA. This will be the third time that the students from Manipal Institute of Technology (MIT) will represent India at an international level. They were at Wisconsin in 2009 and Rochester in 2010.

This year, the event will be held from June 7-10 in Wisconsin, USA. 18 students in the 36-member team will be going to the US to attend the event. The three day event will have static and dynamic events to test to endurance capacity of the vehicle, followed by a four hour race.

The project began at the end of 2010, after which the team took six months to design and eight months to build the car. Siddharth Singh, the team leader and captain of TMR said that their previous projects helped make TMR V3 faster and lighter than its predecessors. Sahara India is the title sponsor for this project which cost Rs. 11 lakhs. It also has the support of MU, which has been its logistics sponsor.

“Getting selected is one thing; it’s a whole other chapter to stay dedicated to the project. We have our faculty coordinators – Dr Krishna Murthy (Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing), Dr. Rammohan S.Pai (Head Of Department (HOD), Aeronautical and Automobile) and Dr Divakara Shetty (HOD, Mechanical and Manufacturing) – to make sure that we meet our deadlines. We have to balance all of this with our daily assignments,” said Akhil Khandhari, a third year student at MIT (Mechanical Engineering).

Chancellor of MU, Dr Ramdas Pai; Pro Chancellor MU, Dr H.S Ballal; Vice Chancellor MU, Dr K.Ramnarayan and Registrar MU, Dr G.K Prabhu were present at the venue.


Sub-edited by Bhavani Seetharaman