Women’s participation doubles in Inter MU Basketball2 min read

October 7, 2012 2 min read


Women’s participation doubles in Inter MU Basketball2 min read

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Manipal: Manipal University (MU) Inter Collegiate Basketball Tournament hosted by the Kasturba Medical College International Center (KMCIC) was held from October 1-3. 40 women’s teams and 20 men’s teams participated in the tournament, showing a drastic increase in women’s participation in the tournament from 16 the previous year.

The matches were played at the Kasturba Medical College (KMC) basketball court and the Manipal Institute of Technology (MIT) court. Due to heavy rainfall, the quarterfinals, semifinals and finals of the tournament were held in Marena.

KMC (Manipal) and KMC (Mangalore) qualified for the women’s finals and KMC Manipal and MIT-A entered the men’s finals. KMC Manipal lost to KMC Mangalore with a score of 33-23 in the final women’s match while MIT-A beat KMC (Manipal) with a score of 62-50.A player from the winning team, Jijo James, a second year MIT student said, “One of the reasons for our victory is our unity. MIT has always been united. We always play for the team and as a team.

Contradicting James’s sentiments, Nithin Shetty one of the referees from the Karnataka Basketball Association said, “The players here mainly play for their individual title, more as a show-off statement rather than playing for the team. It is about the style of being a basketball player that accounts more to them than the actual sport itself.”

The Vice Chancellor, Dr. K. Ramnarayan said, “I am glad to see the player’s showing the spirit of true sportsmanship, where the players play as a team. The friendship among the players is the friendship that lasts forever. They learn to lose together because losing is a very important part of the game, if the other team has to win.”

The tournament started with an inauguration ceremony where a lamp was lit by the Chief Guest, Dr. H.S Ballal, Pro Chancellor MU. A valedictory ceremony was held at the end of the tournament where prizes were distributed to the members of all the teams that entered the finals.


Sub-edited by Bhavani Seetharaman