MIT wins badminton tournament2 min read

October 10, 2012 2 min read

MIT wins badminton tournament2 min read

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Manipal: Manipal Institute of Technology (MIT) reigned in the Inter Collegiate Badminton tournament in both the men’s and women’s categories. The tournament was held on October 7 and 8 organised by Melaka Manipal Medical College (MMMC), Manipal.

The finals were held on October 8 at the MIT Recreation Club, where the MIT (A) team won in both categories. The runners-up for men’s category were MMMC and Manipal College of Dental Sciences (MCODS) for women’s category.

In the singles match women’s category, MIT player Rishika Radhakrishnan beat MCODS player Vidisha Mundhra with scores 21-11 and 21-9. In the doubles match, MIT players Rashika Pai and Sanika Kapale won with scores 21-11 and 21-14. This was a true achievement as MIT had lost the women’s title last year to MMMC.

For the men’s finals, MIT continued their winning streak for this tournament. In the singles category, MMMC player Vincent Loo Boon Seng won the first match against MIT player Pranab Bhagwanani, 21-7 and 21-9. But, MIT player Abhishek Kumar Singh won the second singles match, 21-17 and 21-10 against MMMC player Moses Wong Yung Kuan. In the doubles category, MMMC players Eujin Choy Min Houng and Moses Wong Yung Kuan lost to MIT players Abhishek Kumar Singh and Pranab Bhagwanani at a very slim margin, 20-21 and 18-21.

Aamir Sait, one of the members of the MIT men’s team said, “We were 2-0 up and looked like it was going to be an easy win for us when MMMC fought back to break even. But we emerged victorious with an easy win in the decider.”

23 teams from men’s category and 20 teams from women’s category participated for the tournament this year as compared to last year’s participation of 21 and 17 men’s and women’s teams respectively. According to Dr. Kemparaj, Sports Coordinator, MU, this year’s tournament was wonderful since fewer colleges participated for last year’s tournament. The women’s matches were held at Marena while the men’s matches were held at the MIT Recreation Club.

The inauguration ceremony for the tournament on October 7 was initiated by the lighting of the lamp by various dignitaries. Other dignitaries included Dr. Vinod Nayak, Secretary, University Sports Coordinator; Sridhar H., Director of Physical Education, KMC, Manipal, Dr. Upendra Nayak, Sports Coordinator, MMMC and Dr. Narendra Pamidi, Sports Advisor, MMMC.

The felicitation ceremony on October 8 was held right after the final matches. The chief guest was Dr. Anice George, Dean, Manipal College of Nursing (MCON). The other dignitaries were Dr. Ullas Kamath, Dean, MMMC and Dr. Annamma Kurien, Associate Dean, MMMC.


Sub-edited by Sabari Saran

Comments are closed.

Leave a comment