MIT bags best team trophy in MU’s annual athletics championship2 min read

October 12, 2012 2 min read


MIT bags best team trophy in MU’s annual athletics championship2 min read

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Manipal: The Inter-College Athletics Championship of Manipal University (MU) organised by Manipal Institute of Management (MIM) in MIT athletics ground concluded with Manipal Institute of Technology (MIT) stealing the top honours, bagging both the overall championship title as well as the Best Team title. The two-day meet was held on October 8 and 9.

Old records were broken and new ones set during this year’s meet. In the 4×100 meters relay race, MIT men’s team of Mukul Anand, Niranjan Kamath, Thomas John and Yashraj Sharma brought laurels by clocking 3:53:41 on the timer. Various track and field games took place both in the men’s and women’s categories.

Humidity however put a damper to the athletes’ stamina. The track events especially saw a few being treated for de-hydration issues and few athletes were carried away by the ambulance for further treatment. “The weather is not at all suitable for strenuous sports as these,” rued a participating athlete who didn’t wish to be named.

“Altogether 18 constituent colleges of MU participated this year with a marked increase in the number of participants. The tracks and field have been prepared well and we’re proud to have hosted the event on our grounds,” Raghavendra Prabhu, Sports Advisor, MIT said during an interaction.

The meet started with the lighting of the ceremonial fire by the students of the host college MIM followed by a welcome speech by their Director R. Venugopal and Dr. Vinod Nayak, Secretary, Sports Council, MU. The function was graced by the Director of MIT, Dr. Vinod.V. Thomas. A cross-country race from MIT grounds to End Point and back was held prior to the beginning of the event.

G. K. Prabhu, Registrar, MU was the Chief Guest for the Valedictory function on the second day. Highlighting the sports facilities available for the students, he encouraged them to participate more in such kind of activities for an all-round development of the body. He gave away the trophies to the winning teams – MIT (Men), MCODS (Women), Dr. A. Chakravarti, MCODS (Individual, Men) and Rachael Jingrng, MMMC (Individual, Women).

The two-day event concluded with a vote of thanks by the Director of MIM, R. Venugopal followed by the singing of the National anthem.


Sub-edited by Bhavani Seetharaman