MIT-A survive scare to win Inter-Mahe cricket tournament2 min read

November 15, 2015 2 min read

MIT-A survive scare to win Inter-Mahe cricket tournament2 min read

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Manipal: Manipal Institute of Technology-A (MIT-A) staged a stellar comeback to survive a scare and beat MIT-B by 23 runs in the Inter-Mahe cricket tournament final here on Sunday.

After being bundled out for a below par score of 120, MIT-A’s bowlers led by Rishab Dave managed to restrict MIT-B to 97 in a game dominated by the ball.

MIT-B were on course for an upset win in their chase of 121 in 50 overs with Sushrut Devastali and skipper Utkal Shain leading the charge with a 49 run partnership but the game turned on its head when Rishab Dave broke the partnership to put MIT-A back in contention. Wickets continued to tumble as the chasers lost their fourth wicket within the next two runs as Dave sent the stumps for a toss, dismissing the well-set Utkal for 26. Dave’s bowling figures read 10-03-16-03 (Overs-Maidens-Runs-Wickets). Saumitra Darbal, Aditya Sharma and Romel also chipped in with wickets. At the end of 38 overs, the scoreboard read 83 for 8. Rishab Singh delayed the inevitable with a patient 32 before his dismissal signaled the end of MIT-B’s hopes of causing an upset.

Earlier in the day, MIT-A relied on Prusty to reach a modest score of 120. After losing three early wickets, Prusty(34 ) and Prateek Girohar(21 ) toiled to steady the ship amidst the aggressive field set-up of MIT-B. The tail contributed with cameos but Ayush Singhania (3-14) and Ninad Shetty(4-12) rattled through the batting line-up as MIT-A finished with 120 runs on the board in 48 overs.

This was MIT-B’s second defeat in the finals, after losing to Kasturba Medical College(KMC), Mangalore last year. Today’s match was also the first time both teams from MIT had made it to the finals. “It was a young and inexperienced team. Chasing in a crunch final is quite difficult. The outfield was pretty slow but the pitch has been batsmen friendly throughout the tournament. Credits to the bowlers of both the teams for their efforts”, stated Utkal, captain of MIT-B.

Medals and certificates were distributed to the players by Ramamohan Pai B, Professor, Automobile and Aeronautical Engineering department, MIT.