Campus Sports Top Stories

Traditional Heavyweights MIT, KMC Emerge Victors at inter-MAHE Tennis3 min read

February 25, 2018 3 min read

Traditional Heavyweights MIT, KMC Emerge Victors at inter-MAHE Tennis3 min read

Reading Time: 3 minutes

Manipal: Riding on dominating individual performances by their players, Manipal Institute of Technology (MIT) and Kasturba Medical College (KMC) staked their claim to the men’s and women’s team titles at the annual Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE) Inter-Collegiate Tennis Tournament held at the MIT Court here on Sunday, 25 February.

In a fiercely contested event featuring teams from as many as nine colleges, MIT-A edged past Department of Commerce (DOC) 3-2 in an aggravatingly contrasting final. Simultaneously played on two adjacent courts, the singles honours were shared one apiece between the two sides. DOC’s Rahul Sriram eked out a slender 6-5 win over MIT’s Kartik Kannan while Prajeeth steamrolled Anshuman Das 6-0.

Rahul Sriram of DOC in action against MIT’s Kartik Kannan in the final. || Photograph Courtesy: Divayansh Bargotra

The gulf between the playing prowess of DOC’s two individual players was clearly visible and MIT-A’s duo of Kannan and Buty made full use of it to seal a breezy 6-2 win in the doubles rubber, which would turn out to be the match-defining moment in the tie.

Coming into the reverse singles with a 2-1 lead, MIT-A just required one win to clinch the title, which Kannan comfortably secured in no time. Taking just twenty minutes to complete a comprehensive 6-0 victory against Das, he played the perfect party-spoiler to Sriram, who impressed yet again with an inconsequential 6-4 win against Prajeeth in the final reverse singles rubber.

Rahul Sriram serving against MIT-A in the doubles rubber. || Photograph Courtesy: Divayansh Bargotra

Originally intended to be played alongside the men’s final on Sunday, the women’s final took place a day earlier at the Sharada Court. Participation from merely four teams led to a premature culmination of the event. It was an absolute juggernaut of a performance by the KMC women in the final against their fellow counterparts from KMC Mangalore. Without dropping a serve, both Nitya Nyalakonda and Yaami Gupta wrapped up both their respective rubbers 5-0, thus handing KMC Mangalore a hapless drubbing which lasted a little over 30 minutes.

MIT’s Prajeeth strikes a forehand in the final. || Photograph Courtesy: Divayansh Bargotra

The tournament was conducted on the lines of the Davis Cup, where each men’s tie consisted of five rubbers. A solitary doubles rubber was sandwiched in between two singles and two reverse singles, and the team to reach three wins first was adjudged victors of the tie. The women’s category was a shortened version with each tie consisting of only three rubbers (two singles and one doubles). Each individual rubber of a tie was played as a run to six and five games for men and women respectively.

Brief Scores:

Women’s Final:

KMC Manipal bt. KMC Mangalore (2-0)

Nitya Nyalakonda bt. Tanya Rukiya (5-0)

Yaami Gupta bt. Kena Aparajita Mishra (5-0)

Men’s Final:

MIT-A bt. DOC (3-2)

Prajeeth bt. Anshuman Das (6-0)

Kartik Kannan lost to Rahul Sriram (5-6)

Kartik Kannan/Mohanish Buty bt. Rahul Sriram/Anshuman Das (6-2)

Kartik Kannan bt. Anshuman Das (6-0)

Prajeeth lost to Rahul Sriram (4-6)


Edited by Pravin C

Featured Image Courtesy: Divayansh Bargotra