Campus Sports

KMC Mangalore shines in the 2019-20 edition of Inter-MAHE chess tournament2 min read

September 28, 2019 2 min read

KMC Mangalore shines in the 2019-20 edition of Inter-MAHE chess tournament2 min read

Reading Time: 2 minutes

MANIPAL: The Dr T M A Pai Halls of Kasturba Medical College (KMC), Manipal showcased a battle of wits as Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE) organised the third edition of its annual Inter-College Chess Tournament on September 26 and 27. The two-day event also marked the commencement of MAHE’s Inter-Collegiate Sports Fest for 2019-20. The tournament was inaugurated by marathon athlete Satish Gujaran- India’s only Comrades Green Number award winner.

15 teams and more than 90 students participated in what is called a Swiss system tournament, or ladder system format of the tournament. This system includes no elimination and the teams continue playing until the last round of the competition, gaining points with every game they win. Two points were awarded for every win and a point for a draw. 

The tournament was planned so as to have a blend of offline and online matches with a total of five rounds. Three of which were held on day one and the rest two on day two. Due to the lack of participants, online matches did not go as anticipated. 

After clashes in round one and round two, KMC Manipal, KMC Mangalore, Manipal Institute Of Technology (MIT) – A and Manipal Institute Of Technology (MIT) – B emerged as the dominant teams with two points each. 

The end of round three and subsequently day one, saw Department Of Commerce (DOC) and Manipal Institute Of Communication (MIC) fighting their way into the tournament with four and three points respectively, surpassing MIT- A and MIT- B. KMC Manipal and KMC Mangalore were also tied, with four match points.

KMC Manipal and KMC Mangalore seemed adamant to win as they continued their winning streak in round four as well – advancing to a total of six points each, while MIT-A and MIT-B made good ground to equalise with DOC.

Round 5 saw stakes raised as the top four teams clashed amongst each other to claim top honours. By the end of the round KMC Mangalore and MIT-A grabbed the top spots with nine and eight points respectively.

KMC Manipal finished with a total of six match points and a total of six game points to grab the third spot and emerge as the second runners-up. Last year’s champions MIT-A salvaged their reputations in the last round to claim second place with eight match points and 14 game points. KMC Mangalore, who were placed third last year, triumphed with a whopping total of nine match points and 14 game points, thus claiming the championship

Sunandhan, Brian, Prashanth, Prakar, Sarthak and Nishesh – the winning contingent from KMC, Mangalore were elated as they received medals and certificates from Dr Srikant Rao, Director, MIT.

“Every member of the team played really well and we were looking forward to winning, considering the amount of practice we put in”, exclaimed Sarthak, a student of KMC Mangalore.


Featured Image Courtesy: Siri Spandana

Edited by: Tarush Dhume